Programme Fourth Dutch Delta Congress 2013

Thursday 7 November 2013 | Beatrix Theater Utrecht


08.00 a.m.

Registration and welcome
Tea and coffee

10.00 a.m.

Welcome by Chair Eva Kuit.

Opening by the Minister of  Infrastructure & the Environment, Melanie Schultz van Haegen.

In the presence of the Minister, Anne Robinson (president of INFORMS) will present the Frans Edelman Award to the Delta Commissioner and the team from the Netherlands Bureau for Economic Policy Analysis (CPB), the University of Tilburg, Delft University of Technology, Deltares, HKV Consultants and the Ministry of Infrastructure & the Environment. This Dutch consortium recently won the prestigious American prize for its project entitled ‘Economically Efficient Flood Standards to Protect the Netherlands Against Flooding’. In the project, a new calculation method was developed which can be used for calculating the optimal protection level, in economic terms, of the Netherlands against flooding. The project has made a unique contribution to improving the water safety of the Netherlands and plays a key role in the Delta Programme 2014.

Delta Commissioner Wim Kuijken will then explain the state of affairs of the Delta Programme and will pay special attention to the innovations in the Delta Programme on the road to the Delta Decisions in 2014-2015. He will also present concrete examples of ‘smart combinations’.

In an interview, three professors will then discuss the approach to, quality assurance of and dealing with uncertainties in preparing the Delta Decisions. The participants are: Bas Jonkman (Delft University of Technology), Pier Vellinga (Wageningen University) and Chris Zevenbergen (UNESCO-IHE).

Of course, we will also focus on the young people in the Delta Programme, in the presence of the Board of the Youth Water Board.

Using concrete examples, the administrative partners in the Delta Programme will then reflect on the progress of the Delta Programme and the preparation of the Delta Decisions. The participants are: Ina Adema (Chair of the Water Sub-Committee, Association of Netherlands Municipalities), Gerard Doornbos (Vice-Chair, Association of Regional Water Authorities), Jan Hendrik Dronkers (Director-General of Rijkswaterstaat, Ministry of Infrastructure & the Environment), and Josan Meijers (Member of the Board of the Association of the Provinces of the Netherlands).

This year once again a special guest will be in the spotlight.

Peter Heij (Director-General of Spatial Planning & Water Affairs, Ministry of Infrastructure & the Environment) will close the morning session.

12.00 noon



12.30 p.m.

Aleid Wolfsen, Mayor of Utrecht and Chair of the Safety Council, will conduct the Opening of the Delta Parade.

1.15 p.m.

Parallel to the Delta Parade there is a programme in the plenary hall

Opening by Wiebe Draijer, Chair and Crown-appointed member of the Social and Economic Council of the Netherlands

1.30 p.m.

The input, knowledge and insights of civil society organisations are important in the Delta Programme. How do representatives of these organisations regard their role in preparing the Delta Decisions?

Session 1: Water Safety

  • Petra Souwerbren, Natural Climate Buffers Coalition, Managing Director of ARK
  • Fries Heinis, Managing Director of the Hydraulics Association [Vereniging van Waterbouwers]

Session 2: Freshwater

  • Siem Jan Schenk, Vice-Chair of LTO-Nederland
  • Roy Tummers, Head of Water Department at the Energy, Environment and Water Association [Vereniging Energie, Milieu en Water (VEMW)]

Session 3: Regional Systems

  • Peter Visser, Chair of Regional Consultative Body IJsselmeer Area
  • Jan Boelhouwer, Chair of Rivers feedback group

3.00 p.m.

Innovations can result in significant savings in terms of costs and space. A selection of innovations will be presented in pitches. Questions from the audience will be discussed.

Kick-off by Marike van Lier Lels

Session 1: Digital Innovations in Integrated Water Management

  • Geert Hermans, Business Developer at ZLTO
  • Onne Rösingh, Member of the Board of IJkdijk and Managing Director of INTECH-IDSS
  • Fons Nelen, Managing Director of Nelen en Schuurmans

Session 2: Conservation of Freshwater: Technical Innovations

  • Koen Zuurbier, researcher at KWR Watercycle Research Institute
  • Pieter Beeldman, Project Leader Rhine-Meuse Estuary bubble plumes feasibility study
  • Peter Vermaat, General Manager, Evides Waterbedrijf

Session 3: nHWBP, Improved Safety: Cost Savings

  • Chris Griffioen, Project Leader Comprehensive Exploratory Piping Study, Groot Salland Water Authority
  • Frans van den Berg, Coordinator, Dike Reinforcement Programme Office, Rivierenland Water Authority
  • Pieter-Christiaan van Oranje, CEO AGT Nederland

4.15 p.m.

Closing with a general word of reflection on the day’s results by Hans van der Vlist (Chair of the Water Advisory Committee)

4.30 p.m.

Close and drinks